Mount Hyjal and Preparing for Warth

I haven’t been posting much as most of my focus has been mostly on preparing for Wrath.  Most of the mechanics/gear for healers is changing and I’m trying to wrap my head around it but I haven’t posted much on it because a lot of it is in flux.

I am in the beta and have been playing around with some of the new stuff, but I’m kinda torn because I really need to be level 80 to really see the good stuff and I don’t want to level through all the content now and ruin the excitement of the launch.  Now that they set up a premade realm I need to make an 80 priest and try some things out.

The guild has been progressing still, though it is still like pulling teeth to get people to show up.  We’ve had people quit the game (including our main off tank) which has made it tough.  We are now 5/6 SSC, 3/4 TK with just Vashj and Kael to down yet and 2/5 MH.  I know I said we were planning on getting Kael and Vashj first but we were outvoted by those who didn’t want to spend the remaining time before the expansion wiping on them.

Mount Hyjal has been fun the two time we were in there.  Our heal team did a great job overcoming the healing challenges of the Rage Winterchill fight.  I found that using my old trick (which I also use for Shade of Aran and the lynx form of Zul’Jin) of setting the boss to my focus and hovering over his target ready to heal the ice bolt damage when he switches off of the tank (3000 dps on clothies is brutal!!).  I’ve read that having a priest shield the vicitm of ice bolt while others spam quick heals works well, but I found that flash heals worked just as well.

I’m sure if you’re anywhere near T6 you’ve heard that having the PvP trinket for Hyjal is key.  Don’t make the mistake I did and think that it is just for Archimonde.  There are two uses for it in Rage also.  The ice bolt tomb can be broken (which would completely remove the difficultly with healing it I mentioned above if everyone was using it) and you can break out of his frost nova when he uses death and decay on top of it.  I definitely recommend having the 2 minute cooldown one.  On our first kill I used it twice to break ice tomb and since I’m one of the primary ice bolt healers, it may have saved the fight twice.  If you are healing that fight make it a priority!!

I’ve been continuing on my effort to prepare my armada of characters for the expansion.  My priest now has all his proffessions maxed out and I’m nearly done with exalted reps too.  I got my Netherwing Drayke and Cenarion War Hypogryph so I don’t have to go bad for it when wrath is here (how crappy are rep grinds in old world content? and the drayke is awesome!!).  My mage is 60 and I now have a character of every class.  I still need enchanting and jewelcrafting to get maxed out, but I’ve been toying with the idea of getting enchanting back on my priest and dropping herbs.  The only issue is that he is the only character with an epic flyer so farming is the easiest with him.  I’m pretty broke right now, but I need to save up gold for wrath anyway.  I hate farming…

One of the other things I’ve been working with is developing my priest’s shadow set.  I’ve started respeccing shadow a lot and it’s been a lot of fun exploring the other side of my favorite character.  I’ve been thinking of spending my 200 saved up badges on my shadow set since my healing one is solid (I got my Earring from Lurker a few weeks ago!!).

Anyway, there’s a bit of a catchup.  I can’t wait to talk about the wrath ability changes.  The shadow improvements, especially the Mind Flay changes, our very exciting for priests wanting to keep up with other in the dps race.

~ by Thuenderman on September 10, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
